
Patras, the very ancient city of the mythical Patreus, is the third
largest city in Greece and the
capital of the Prefecture of Achaia.
It is a significant commercial and converging point. Its port constitutes the
western gateway to Greece. Millions
of visitors stop by and admire the exceptional street plan and architectural style
of the city.
The rich historical and cultural heritage of Patras, its significant
religious and archaeological monuments, the pace of a modern, live city that offers
many possibilities for entertainment set the city apart as an attraction pole
of thousands of visitors. In the course of Greek History, from prehistoric times
to our days, Patras has always played a pivotal role in the development and moulding
of historical conditions. Every corner of the city is its own historical reference
point.
The culmination of all the cultural events of the city, as well as
the major winter show of the country is the Carnival of Patras. It is an endless
feast lasting two months during which time the colours, gaiety, imagination, and
high-spiritedness carry away every single inhabitant of the city as they all join
in happiness and sorrow.
The International Festival attracts thousands of visitors every summer.
The biggest names in the Arts and Cultural life of the place honour the deeply
rooted cultural tradition of all the inhabitants of Patras.
The Municipal District Theatre of the city - one of the largest and
most active groups in Greece
- feature outstanding performances of the classics every season.
Sporting events are highly favoured in the city, which as two sizable
football grounds and three indoor Gymnasiums. Popular athletic events are held
in the National Stadium of Patras, whereas basketball, volleyball, and gymnastics
contests of European and International interest are organized and held in the
Palais De Sport. Moreover, there are three modern conference centres with space
available for the organization of commercial and trade exhibits.
Places worth visiting are the following: the Holy Church of Agios
Andreas; the Castle
of Patra; the Archaeological
Museum; the Municipal
Theatre ‘Apollo’ (designed by Ernst Ziller); the Holy Church of
Pantokrator (a Byzantine church); the Roman
Odeon (the most beautiful Roman edifice in the area); the Castle
of Rio built in 1499; the Yirokomio
Monastery; the Monastery
of Omblou; ACHAIA CLAUSS (where a visitor can be toured around the premises
of the wine making plant and have a taste of Mavrodaphni aroma); the Catholic
Church of Agios Andreas, and the Municipal
Gallery.
This text (extract) is cited March 2004 from the Prefecture
of Achaia tourist pamphlet (1999).
Patras' history according to written tradition
Patras' history was known until recently only by written tradition.
According to it, Patras was founded by the Achaeans of Sparta who, headed by Preugenes
and his son Patreus, came here after being forced out by the Dorians. But similarly
the Achaeans of Argos, also forced out by the Dorians, headed by Tisamenos, occupied
the eastern Achaia, after besieging Eliki.
Up to then, the whole of Achaia was named after the Ions and was called Ionia
but was also called Aegialos, either because it was named after the king of Sikyona,
Aegialus, either because the whole region spread all along the coast (aegialos).
The Ions first reached Athens
and from there went to Asia Minor
where they founded twelve cities, the Ionian Dodecapolis, in remembrance of the
twelve cities they had left behind.
Preugenes and Patreus made three Ionian market towns into one. Those
three were Aroe, Mesati
and Antheia and having as
center Aroe they founded a new city that they called Patres, after Patreus. The
city' s name was in the plural because of the unification of many settlements.
The oldest of these three market towns was Aroe. Its founder was Eumelos who,
helped by Triptolemos of Eleusina, introduced the cultivation of grains. Eumelos
and Triptolemos later founded Antheia, which was named after Eumelos' son, Antheias.
Finally, at the market town of Mesati, they worshiped god Dionysus.
According to another tradition, Eurepelus, Euemonos' son, king of
the Thessalie, heading the Thessales after the Trojan War, he founded a colony
at Aroe.
After the Mycenean period and as Patras geographical position was
at the periphery of Greece and quite far from the big urban centers of that period,
such as Athens, Sparta, Corinth,
Chalkide etc., this city does not play an important role in the significant events
and the political evolutions that occur in the rest of the country. It does not
found colonies, neither is it active in the Persian wars, the Peloponnesian war
and the conflicts of the 4th century BC. The initiative of all movements of that
era belongs exclusively to Eastern Achaia. On the contrary, after 280 BC, Patras
plays a significant role in the foundation of the second Achaian League together
with the cities Dyme, Triteia
and Pharai and the initiative
of the political movements is transferred for the first time at the western Achaia.
Later on and after the roman occupation of Greece, in 146 BC, Patras plays the
main role and Augustus founds here a roman colony.
Patras' inactivity in the political field up to 146 BC seems to be
the cause for which only those events linked to other big cities are referred
by great ancient historians and not those events of local importance. So, we know
that even Patras did not take part in the Peloponnesian war (431-404 BC), Alkibiades
proposed to the inhabitants of this city to construct the Long Wall to link the
city around the acropolis to the port.
Patras' history after the excavations
By means of excavations, mainly the redeeming ones in building grounds,
many gaps of the city's history are now filled and many of the elements referred
to by ancient writers are now refuted.
From the elements known so far, it is obvious that Patras is firstly
inhabited in the 3rd millenium BC and not at the end of the 2nd, as we used to
believe. These very ancient traces of the city are located at the region where
Aroe is situated today. During the next middle-Hellenistic period, in the first
half of the 2nd millenium BC, another settlement is founded at the region. But
Patras starts flourishing for its first time during the post-Hellenistic or Mycenean
period (1580-1100 BC). The plethora of mycenean graves that were found at the
city (street Germanou) as well as at the surroundings, Voudeni, Aroe, Samakia,
Girokomio, Petroto (Achaia
Clauss), Krini, Saravali,
Kallithea and elsewhere, prove
not only that the population is significantly risen by then but that there are
also relations developed among the regions.
At the end of the Mycenean period, Patras' synoecism is nothing more
than a religious unification and a foundation of a common worship of goddess Artemis
and it was called Triklaria after the three settlements (klaros) that initially
existed in the area and participated in the festivities. The temple of Artemis
is located at Velvitsi where three precious sculptures from a gable of a classic
temple were found. Recent discovery of an inscription gives signs that Mesati
was situated at the region of Sichena and Voudeni. If we consider true the testimony
of ancient sources that Patras was founded at Aroe, then we have to look for it
at the place where the mediaeval fortress and today's Aroe are. The identification
of Antheia remains to be found but most probably it was at the hill of Mygdalia
at Petroto. Patras' acropolis, both mycanean and classic, is located under the
medieval fortress, at a depth of at least 20 meters and its excavation presents
various problems.
From the two periods that followed, Geometric and Archaic, only few
elements have seen the light and it seems that Patras had gradually started to
decline. On the contrary, during the classic period (5th and 4th century BC),
it seems that the political settlement of Patras gets organized and becomes a
city, because at some point in the middle of 5th century the most ancient cemetery
of the city, known as the Northern cemetery, is founded. Consequently, it seems
that the tradition about Patreus is possibly a more recent creation, maybe of
the Hellenistic period, when most of the cities in Greece invented settlers in
order to interpret the origin of their names.
The tradition that refers to Alcebiades' Long Wall seems to be based
on a real event as traces of the wall have been found during remedying excavations.
During the Hellenistic period, 323-146 BC, the town is extended to
the sea and a second cemetery, the South, is established. However, Patras reaches
its highest peak during the roman period when its port, because of the destruction
of Corinth's port, it plays the first role in the communication of Greece with
Italy. Moreover, the foundation of a roman colony in 14 BC by August promotes
Patras even more. A cadastral map is drawn up, privileges are given, crafts are
created, and the most important was that of earthen oil lamps which were exported
almost to the whole world of that time, two industrial zones are created, temples
are built, roads that render Patras a communication center are opened, streets
are paved with flagstones, foreign worships are introduced etc. The city is extended
up to the sea and the population rises to the point that another two cemeteries
are founded, the Eastern and the Southeastern. The land is reorganized and its
exploitation is now done through the farmhouses. Roman Emperors gave to Patras
the privilege to mint its own coins on which are inscribed the initials CAAP,
previously transcript as Colonia Augusta Aroe Patrensis, meaning Colony of August
at Aroe of Patras. Recently though, a coin with fully written the abbreviation
was found and so we read: Colonia Augusta Aroe Patrensis, meaning Colony of August
at Patras of Achaia.
But the roman emperors also created public buildings and offered other
benefactions such as the roman amphitheater, the roman aqueduct, the roman Odeon.
All these are proved by the dedicatory inscriptions found at those places where
emperors are characterized as benefactors. Patras is by then a cosmopolitan city.
But at the end of the 3rd century AD it falls into decline, most possibly because
of a strong earthquake that hit the whole of NE Peloponnese in 300 AD.
Medieval and Modern period
Nonetheless, there are still some little flashes, like in the old-Christian
and the first Byzantine period (4th-6th century AD), when new crafts are created.
It is assumed that during this period, the Byzantine castle that exists until
nowadays with some reparations and other accretions done by the Franks and the
Turks, is built by Justinian at the place of the ancient acropolis. The city is
extended around the fortress. In the middle of the 9th century AD, as we learn
from the tradition of the rich lady Daniilida, Patras flourishes. Then, it starts
following the track of the Byzantine State. Since the 13th century, it belongs
sometimes to the Franks, sometimes to the Byzantine, sometimes to the Venetians
and some other times to the Turks. The most important points of this track are:
the period from 1266 to 1430 with the occupation of the Franks, then the Byzantium
and in 1458 the occupation from the Turks. From 1687 to 1715, Patras was once
more occupied by the Venetians and then again from the Turks up the Liberation
in 1821.
After the liberation from the Turks, Patras develops fast thanks to
its port and the commerce that takes place through it. Beautiful neo-classic buildings
embellish the city whose roads all end up to the sea so that its bracing force
is not cut. Artistic and spiritual life is very intense. Gradually the heavy industry
develops, which has as a result the rise of the population. Today, Patras is one
of the most significant cities in Greece and its port is still playing the important
role that it had during all its long history.
Text by Michalis Petropoulos, archaeologist, ST' EPKA
This text is cited December 2004 from the West Greece Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image.
Tel: +30 2610 623390
Fax: +30 2610 623005
Built in the second half of the 6th century AD, the Castle of Patras rises on the northern foothills of Mount Panachaikon, on the site of the city's ancient Acropolis. lt consists of a long and wide outer enclosure with towers and bastions, surrounded by a moat on three sides, which covers an area of approximately 22,600 square meters. The entrance is in the middle of its east side. The inner enclosure with its six towers, known as the Ήexapyrgion', stands on a natural mound in the Castle's northeast section.
The Castle's continuous use for the region's defence and as an administrative and military centre from its foundation to modern times had as a consequence the continual repairs and additions, a testimony to all of the peoples that have passed through it. ln 805, the Castle was besieged by the Slavs and Saracens, whose defeat was attributed to a miracle by Saint Andrew, the city's patron saint. ln 1205, Frankish knights occupied Patras and constructed the Castle's inner enclosure. ln 1408, the Pope leased Patras to the Venetians, whose main addition to the Castle is the circular bastion at the northwest end. Konstantinos Palaiologos, Despot of Mystra, occupied the Castle in 1430 and added two towers, one on the south side and another at the north end of the inner enclosure, on the west side of which eight semi-circular arches were built. ln 1458, the Castle surrendered to the Ottomans, whose interventions are evident in almost all of the Castle's parts. The North Wall was reinforced by a circular tower, and polygonal bastions were built at the outer enclosure's southeast corner and the inner enclosure's northeast section. The Ottomans also built administrative buildings and a mosque inside the Castle; part of the mosque still stands to a considerable height.
The Castle fell to the Venetian forces led by Francesco Morosini in 1687, but was recaptured by the Ottomans in 1715. lt was finally liberated by the French General Maison in 1828 and handed over to the Greek independence army. From 1950 to 1975, the Castle belonged to the city of Patras. lt was subsequently ceded to the Hellenic Ministry of Culture and has since functioned as an archaeological site under the jurisdiction of the 6th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities.
Source: The Consolidation - Reconstruction of the North Wall and lllumination of the Castle of Patras in Achaea, Hellenic Ministry of Culture and Athletics, General Management of Antiquities and cultural heritage, 6th Ephorate of Byzantine Antiquities, ISBN 978-960-386-143-0
The fortress of Patras was built during the second half of the 6th
century, on top of the ruins of the ancient acropolis. It is situated on a low
hill of Panachaikos Mountain, at a distance approximately 800 meters from the
coast. Its walls surround an area of about 22725 s.m and is constituted by a triangle
outer enclosure, loaded with towers and ramparts, initially protected by a deep
moat, and an inside enclosure that raises high in the NE corner and is also surrounded
by a moat.
It was built by Justinian, after the destroying earthquake in 551
using material from buildings of the B.C. era for the defence of the region and
its citizens. In the centuries that followed and up to the Second World War, it
has been in constant use for the defence of the city, but also as an administrative
and military centre.
During the Byzantine Ages, until the entrance of the Franks (1205)
it was besieged by the Slaves, Saracens, Bulgarians, Normands etc, though without
any of them achieving to besiege it. In 805 AD the people of the city were besieged
in the castle by the Slaves and the Saracens and their victory, attributed to
a miracle of the Patron Saint Andrew, was important for the restraint of the barbaric
invasions in the Peloponnese.
The Frank Crusaders developed it, reinforced it and dug a moat all
around. In 1278 it was mortgaged to the Latin Archbishop while in 1408 the Pope
ceded it for five years against a rental to the Venetians. It remained in the
hands of the Latin Archbishop till 1430, when it was set free by Constantine Palaiologos.
Constantine moved on to extension and repair of the walls.
It was slaved, during the Turkish Occupation and it passed in the
hands of the Greeks in 1828, after its liberation by the French General Mezon.
Since 1973 the Castle is under the supervision of the 6th Committee
of Byzantine Antiquities. In the dismantling theatre (640 seats) that lies at
the interior enclosure, cultural celebrations take place every summer.
The building phases that are obvious on the castle are evidence of
the work that has been made from the various conquerors for its repair and fitting
in the development of the fighting technology.
In a special notch on the wall, it is graved the body and the head
of a male statue of the Roman Ages. This disfigured statue gained extraordinary
dimensions in the eyes of Patras' people. It became the ghost of the city, "Patrinella".
Tradition says that it was a woman disguised into a man during the Turkish Occupation
that preserves the city against epidemics and cries in the night, when one famous
personality of Patras dies.
Fortress:
Οpen 8.00 am-6.00 pm (except Mondays)
On Sunday: 8.00 am-6.00 pm Free Entrance
Tel 2610623390
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Municipality of Patra URL below, which contains image.
On a green-clad hill, eight km SE of Patras' centre, are located the
facilities of ACHAIA CLAUSS winery, distinguished as one of the topmost tourist
sites of the region.
Its founder, Bavarian Gustav Clauss arrived in Patras in 1854 to work
in a German company dealing with exportation of raisin. During an excursion, he
visited this region that charmed him with its natural beauty. He bought a small
vineyard just to produce some wine for self-consumption and he ended up to the
establishment of this Castle-Winery that survives intact till now. In 1861 he
founded ACHAIA CLAUSS Co and the excellent quality wines, including Mavrodaphne
of Patras, conquered both Greek and international market.
The stone-made buildings, the large oaken carved barrels with one
century-old Mavrodaphne, the traditional cellar where visitors are welcomed as
well as the unique landscape with the breath-taking view attract approximately
200.000 visitors per year.
Open daily for visits from 09.00 to 17.00
Tel: 2610325051-9
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Municipality of Patra URL below, which contains image.
The building of the
municipal theatre "Apollon" was erected in 1872 after plans by the German
architect Ernst Ziller. The building is characteristic of the 19th century neoclassical
style. It was built as a theatre and it is located in the central square of the
city of Patras.
Conservation work on the theatre has been carried out at intervals.
"Apollo" Municipal Theatre is located on King George I Square and
is considered as the most impressive architectural ornament of Patras, while it
is one of the first opera theatres in Europe. It was built on 1872 according to
the designs of the German architect Ernst Ziller, with the financial contribution
of Patras' merchants.
It has three rows of boxes and seats dressed with red velvet, gallery
and pit. Since its first year of operation, Patras' people had the opportunity
to enjoy opera performances of great composers such as Verdi, Apolloni, Puccini,
Ricci, Donizetti, Bizet, as well as performances of operettas. Later on, the theatre's
stage hosted major Greek theatrical troupes, such as that of Kotopouli, Myrat,
Kyveli, Plessas, while during Carnival it has been the venue of dancing parties
and masked balls. So, in the 50's it was identified to the organization of famous
and unique in Greece "Bourboulia".
The Municipal Theatre is since 1988 the permanent venue of the Municipal
and Regional Theatre of Patras, which stops performing only during Carnival, when
tradition imposes the beginning of balls and, of course, the "Bourboulia".
Telephone: 2610273613
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Municipality of Patra URL below, which contains image.
Tel: +30 2610 580100
Fax: +30 2610 325051
On a green-clad hill, eight km southeast of Patras'
centre, are located the facilities of Achaia Clauss winery, distinguished as one
of the topmost tourist sites of the region.
Its founder, Bavarian Gustav Clauss arrived in Patras in 1854 to work
in a German company dealing with exportation of raisin. During an excursion, he
visited this region that charmed him with its natural beauty. He bought a small
vineyard just to produce some wine for self-consumption and he ended up to the
establishment of this Castle-Winery that survives intact till now. In 1861 he
founded Achaia Clauss Co and the excellent quality wines, including Mavrodaphne
of Patras, conquered both Greek and international market.
The stone-made buildings, the large oak carved barrels with one century-old
Mavrodaphne, the traditional cellar where visitors are welcomed as well as the
unique landscape with the breathtaking view attract approximately 200,000 visitors
per year.
This pine-clad hill is called the "veranda" of the Patraic Gulf, due
to the excellent view that it offers.
Dassylion (small wood) lends itself for promenades and jogging. It
is pleasantly walked, thanks to the special configuration of the paths running
along the wood and the cool shadow offered by the very high trees.
There is a Municipal Tourist Kiosk harmonised with the surroundings
from where one can admire Patras, the port, the north coasts of Messologhi up
to the Roumeli's Mountains. In the afternoon traffic increases as many are those
that go uphill to Dassylion to get a view of Patraic Gulf that turns purple red
from the unique colours of the sunset.
Pines were planted in Dassylion in 1916 by the students of Primary
Schools, two Gymnasiums and the Business School under the supervision of the Austrian
forester Stegel. Andreas Michalopoulos is the one that had the idea of planting
the barren hill.
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Municipality of Patra URL below, which contains image.
It is the central square of the city. It used to be called Kalamogdarti, because this is where it was located Kalamogdarti's residence. Its formal name was "Othonos". After 1862, it was called National. But when King George I ascended the throne, the square was named after him. It took its current appearance in 1902, when it was smoothened and planted. It was a place, where national dances and outdoor meetings, mostly of political content were held. It was the square on which all the cafes and the shops were gathered. In 1875 the two fountains were placed which cost 70000dr each. A huge amount of money for the economic potential of Greece and Patras back then. It was the square of the political and cultural being of the city, the place where the most important activities were taking place. In the cafes around the square Italian singers sung. This fact should be a surprise as Patras of the Belle Epoque constituted an important cultural city and its contact with the West was frequent and of high level. We should not neglect that the Opera Concerts were held at the theatre next to the square, the famous "Apollo" Theatre. The contemporary George Square still constitutes the square of political meetings, demonstrations, cultural activities and mostly carnival celebrations.
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Municipality of Patra URL below, which contains image.
It is the square that carries the name of king George's wife, Olga.
It used to be called Omonoia Square. It is worth referring that on this square,
Kostis Palamas used to play as a child, because he used to live just across, on
Korinthou street, at the crossing with Kolokotroni street. According to the city
planning it was intended to be the market of cereals, but then it was planted
with trees and was named "The Queen's Garden". Today, this square is called "National
Resistance Square".
This particular square bears the name of the Three Alliance Forces
with Greece in the fight for liberation. These forces were England, France and
Russia. This square's old name was Custom Square, because it lied beside the Custom
House.
It is considered to be the best square in Patras. It was a hill, wide on top. There used to be raisin fields, at a higher level in comparison to the raisin plantations. The area from Ipsila Alonia Square up to the St Catherine Cathedral was called "Elliniko", because of the great number of archaeological finds. In 1857 the levelling of the square begun and ended in 1881, while mayor of the city was Benizelos Roufos, after whom it was named then. Before that its name was Arta Square. In 1863 the National Guards took their oath there. In 1883 was constructed a platform for music and were placed 15 crystal torches. On the north side of the square there was a place for sheep to pasture. At the lower part there were butchers' shops. In 1905 the square had 5 cafes that stayed overnight. This is a clue for the plenitude and 24-hour basis entertainment and amusement of the people in Patras. On November the 22nd, 1821, the Turks chased the Greeks up to this square. King George VIII had bought an area of 25 acres at the south side of the square in order to build a mansion. This, of course was never accomplished as the king's son that inherited this land sold it. In 1944, on this square, the German Army of Occupation hanged fighters of the National Resistance. On March the 3rd, 1923, took place the ceremony for the unveiling of the bronze statue of the Metropolitan Palaion Patron German and on March the 23rd, 1953 the reveal of Palamas' bust.
This text is cited May 2003 from the Municipality of Patra URL below, which contains image.
It is about a square almost at the end of Ermou street. In that area
there has been a market since antiquity. Markato comes from the Latin word Mercurius
(Ermis). This means that this is Ermis Square, the market square. It is possible
that it was named after the liberation from the people of Keffalonia and Zakynthos.
Though, in order to honour the first governor of Greece, Ioannis Capodistrias,
on a decision made by the municipal council, it has been renamed into Kapodistriou
Square, and a bust of the governor stood there.
This square was named after Thomas Voud, who arrived in Patras in
1843 from England, and because of the economic growth of the port, due to the
selling of raisin, he was put in temptation and decided to get engaged in this
particular business. In 1894, he died, while being consul of England in Patras.
He directed the major raisin house of Barf. The area around his mansion was named
after him. Now this square has changed its name into Fighters Square of 1821,
as a tribute to the fighters of the glorious Independence War.
This square carries the name of the family that lived there, Maroudas
family. At first, it was called Giannia Square, to honour George Giannias, or
Deligiorgi of Giannia. On April, 1821, the Turks attacked Giannia and suggested
that he should surrender, but he and his mates denied. In popular songs there
is reference in Giannia's feats.
Tel: +30 2610 420645
Fax: +30 2610 423386
Basilica built in 1835 on the site of the Early Christian basilica of Aghios Andreas. The architect was A. Kaftanzoglou. To the northwest there are remains of an ancient construction: "well or font" of Aghios Andreas. To the northeast is the larger church of the apostle Andreas.
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Hellenic Ministry of Culture URL below, which also contains image.
The two churches dedicated to Patras' patron Saint, St Andrew, constitute
a national and Pan-Orthodox place of pilgrimage. The small Church was erected
during the 1836-1843 period at the spot where Apostle Andrew died a martyr. It
is a basilica work of architect Lyssandros Kaftantzoglou. The whole body icons
on the roof depicting scenes from the Bible, Fathers and Patriarchs are works
of the great religious painter Dimitris Hatziaslanis, alias known as Byzantios.
At the front and on the right side of the Church, near the sanctuary, is located
the marble sepulchre of the Apostle. In the mid-4th century, on the initiative
of Emperor Constantine, the Holy Relics was transferred to St Apostles' Church
in Constantinople. When the Franks occupied the city, the Relics were transferred
to Italy. On September 26th 1964, the Saint's Head returned to Patras by Pope
Paul and after the actions that the citizens of Patras and the Orthodox Church
took.
The new magnificent Byzantine church was founded in 1908 by King George
I and inaugurated in 1974 by Patras' Metropolitan Bishop Nikodimos. It is the
largest and most artistic church in the Balkans and one of the largest across
Europe. The supervision of the construction works was initially undertaken by
architect Anastasios Metaxas, and after his death (1937) by architect Georgios
Nomikos. The Church's central dome is 46m high and supports a five meter high
gold-plated cross and twelve smaller ones, symbolising Jesus and his twelve disciples
respectively. The church's capacity is 5.500 persons.
a national and Pan-Orthodox place of pilgrimage. The small Church was erected
during the 1836-1843 period at the spot where Apostle Andrew died a martyr. It
is a basilica work of architect Lyssandros Kaftantzoglou. The whole body icons
on the roof depicting scenes from the Bible, Fathers and Patriarchs are works
of the great religious painter Dimitris Hatziaslanis, alias known as Byzantios.
At the front and on the right side of the Church, near the sanctuary, is located
the marble sepulchre of the Apostle. In the mid-4th century, on the initiative
of Emperor Constantine, the Holy Relics was transferred to St Apostles' Church
in Constantinople. When the Franks occupied the city, the Relics were transferred
to Italy. On September 26th 1964, the Saint's Head returned to Patras by Pope
Paul and after the actions that the citizens of Patras and the Orthodox Church
took.
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Municipality of Patra URL below, which contains images.
Tel: +30 2610 275022
Fax: +30 2610 226482
Tel: +30 2610 274468
Tel: +30 2610 275912
Tel: +30 2610 459058
1902
Political leader, Sociologist, Historian, Philosopher and Academician.
1760 - 1823
Andreas Karbone was born in Patras in 1926. He studied the violin
and higher theoretics at the Athens Conservatoire with J.de Bustinduy and Ph.
Economidis. He then became the pupil of the distinguished composer, professor
Yannis A.Papaioannou, at the Greek Conservatoire, where he obtained a diploma
in harmony, counterpoint and fugue.
In 1957-1958, having been granted a scholarship by the Italian government,
he resided in Rome, where he perfected his knowledge in composition under the
well known Italian composer and conductor Ennio Porrino. Since then, various works
of Karbone's for orchestra and choir, chamber music and single voice, have often
been broadcast over the Greek Radio-Television, or performed in public concerts.
This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Friends of Music Society "Lilian Voudouri" URL below, which contains image.
1795 - 1868
Born in Patras in April, 1964. He studied political science and international relations at Panteios University in Athens and film directing at the Stavrakou School. Upon completing his studies in 1987 he worked as assistant director and production manager.He has also directed video clips and commercials.
This text is cited October 2004 from the Greek Film Center URL below
Born at Patrae, Greece,
about 860; was, like all the eminent men of that time, a disciple of Photius.
He became Archbishop of Caesarea
early in the tenth century, and is reckoned one of the most scholarly theologians
of the Greek Church.
He is the compiler of the oldest extant Greek commentary (scholia)
on the Apocalypse, for which he made considerable use of the similar work of his
predecessor, Andrew of Caesarea.
To his interest in the earliest Christian literature, caught perhaps from the
above-named Andrew, we owe the Arethas Codex, through which the text of the Greek
Christian Apologists has, in great measure, reached us. He is also known as a
commentator of Plato and Lucian; the famous manuscript of Plato. taken from Patmos
to London was copied by order
of Arethas. Other important Greek manuscripts, e.g. of Euclides, the rhetor Aristides,
and perhaps of Dio Chrysostom, are owing to him.
The latest known date of his life is 932.
Thomas J. Shahan, ed.
Transcribed by: John Fobian
This extract is cited June 2003 from The Catholic Encyclopedia, New Advent online edition URL below.
St. Andrew, the Apostle, son of Jonah, or John, was born in Bethsaida
of Galilee. He was brother of Simon Peter. Both were fishermen, and at the beginning
of Our Lord's public life occupied the same house at Capharnaum. From the fourth
Gospel we learn that Andrew was a disciple of the Baptist, whose testimony first
led him and John the Evangelist to follow Jesus. Andrew at once recognized Jesus
as the Messias, and hastened to introduce Him to his brother, Peter. Thenceforth
the two brothers were disciples of Christ. On a subsequent occasion, prior to
the final call to the apostolate, they were called to a closer companionship,
and then they left all things to follow Jesus.
Finally Andrew was chosen to be one of the Twelve; and in the various
lists of Apostles given in the New Testament he is always numbered among the first
four. Like the majority of the Twelve, Andrew is not named in the Acts except
in the list of the Apostles, where the order of the first four is Peter, John,
James, Andrew; nor have the Epistles or the Apocalypse any mention of him. As
one of the Twelve, Andrew was admitted to the closest familiarity with Our Lord
during His public life; he was present at the Last Supper; beheld the risen Lord;
witnessed the Ascension; shared in the graces and gifts of the first Pentecost,
and helped, amid threats and persecution, to establish the Faith in Palestine.
When the Apostles went forth to preach to the Nations, Andrew seems
to have taken an important part, but unfortunately we have no certainty as to
the extent or place of his labours. It is generally agreed that he was crucified
by order of the Roman Governor, Aegeas or Aegeates, at Patrae
in Achaia, and that he was
bound, not nailed, to the cross, in order to prolong his sufferings. The cross
on which he suffered is commonly held to have been the decussate cross, now known
as St. Andrew's, though the evidence for this view seems to be no older than the
fourteenth century. His martyrdom took place during the reign of Nero, on 30 November,
A.D. 60); and both the Latin and Greek Churches keep 30 November as his feast.
St. Andrew's relics were translated from Patrae
to Constantinople, and deposited
in the church of the Apostles there, about A.D. 357. When Constantinople
was taken by the French, in the beginning of the thirteenth century, Cardinal
Peter of Capua brought the relics to Italy and placed them in the cathedral of
Amalfi, where most of them still remain. St. Andrew is honoured as their chief
patron by Russia and Scotland.
J. Macrory, ed.
Transcribed by: Christine J. Murray
This extract is cited June 2003 from The Catholic Encyclopedia, New Advent online edition URL below.
(Following URL information in Greek only)
(Following URL information in Greek only)
Appellation of Origin of Superior Quality.
Tel: +30 2610 695073, 695190-1
Tel: +30 2613 615400
Tel: +30 2610 435274
Fax: +30 2610 453540, VHF Channel 9
Tel: +30 2610 420612
Tel: +30 2610 695288
Fax: +30 2610 277708
Tel: +30 2610 365113
Tel: +30 2610 320020
Fax: +30 2610 323508
Tel: +30 2610 695043
Tel: +30 2610 313300, 695053
Tel: +30 2610 695000
Fax: +30 2610 271407
Tel: +30 2610 277329
Fax: +30 2610 225334
Tel: +30 2610 310210
Fax: +30 2610 325803
Tel: +30 2610 994848, 636410
Fax: +30 2610 636449
Tel: +30 2610 277688
Fax: +30 2610 274688
Tel: +302613 613350-1
Fax: +302610 273581
Tel: +30 2613 610200
Patras, the very ancient city of the mythical Patreus, is the third
largest city in Greece and the
capital of the Prefecture of Achaia.
It is a significant commercial and converging point. Its port constitutes the
western gateway to Greece. Millions
of visitors stop by and admire the exceptional street plan and architectural style
of the city.
The rich historical and cultural heritage of Patras, its significant
religious and archaeological monuments, the pace of a modern, live city that offers
many possibilities for entertainment set the city apart as an attraction pole
of thousands of visitors. In the course of Greek History, from prehistoric times
to our days, Patras has always played a pivotal role in the development and moulding
of historical conditions. Every corner of the city is its own historical reference
point.
The culmination of all the cultural events of the city, as well as
the major winter show of the country is the Carnival of Patras. It is an endless
feast lasting two months during which time the colours, gaiety, imagination, and
high-spiritedness carry away every single inhabitant of the city as they all join
in happiness and sorrow.
The International Festival attracts thousands of visitors every summer.
The biggest names in the Arts and Cultural life of the place honour the deeply
rooted cultural tradition of all the inhabitants of Patras.
The Municipal District Theatre of the city - one of the largest and
most active groups in Greece
- feature outstanding performances of the classics every season.
Sporting events are highly favoured in the city, which as two sizable
football grounds and three indoor Gymnasiums. Popular athletic events are held
in the National Stadium of Patras, whereas basketball, volleyball, and gymnastics
contests of European and International interest are organized and held in the
Palais De Sport. Moreover, there are three modern conference centres with space
available for the organization of commercial and trade exhibits.
Places worth visiting are the following: the Holy Church of Agios
Andreas; the Castle
of Patra; the Archaeological
Museum; the Municipal
Theatre ‘Apollo’ (designed by Ernst Ziller); the Holy Church of
Pantokrator (a Byzantine church); the Roman
Odeon (the most beautiful Roman edifice in the area); the Castle
of Rio built in 1499; the Yirokomio
Monastery; the Monastery
of Omblou; ACHAIA CLAUSS (where a visitor can be toured around the premises
of the wine making plant and have a taste of Mavrodaphni aroma); the Catholic
Church of Agios Andreas, and the Municipal
Gallery.
This text (extract) is cited March 2004 from the Prefecture
of Achaia tourist pamphlet (1999).
Tel: +30 26930 24040
Fax: +30 26930 22020
Tel: +30 2610 634000
Fax: +30 2610 634090
Tel: +30 2610 622500
Fax: +30 2610 623574
Tel: +30 2610 622676, 620061
Fax: +30 2610 620031
Tel: +30 210 3247512
Tel: +30 2610 275118
Tel: +30 2610 624526
Tel: +30 2614 409400
Located less than a 15-minute walk from the Patra city center, the brand new Moxy Patra Marina combines a smart, fast technological environment with a contemporary living style. The vibrant hotel in Patra embodies the bubbly and engaging lifestyle for which Patra is known. While at the hotel, guests can continue their daily workout routines by visiting our fitness center or swimming in our outdoor pool. Work will also be easy to complete when using our extremely fast WiFi services. When it’s time to explore, guests will find themselves at a fantastic starting point for a tour of the Peloponnese, one of the most beautiful mainland regions of Greece.
WE’VE GOT
So Let’s Play On #moxy.patramarina #atthemoxy.
Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.
Subscribe now!