gtp logo

Location information

Listed 3 sub titles with search on: Main pages  for wider area of: "SIFNOS Island KYKLADES" .

Main pages (3)


Apollonia Community

  Apollonia, also known as Stavri, has been the capital of Siphnos since 1836. It was the seat of the Siphnos Municipality (1836-1914) and of the Apollonia District (1914-1998), and is presently the seat of the newly formed Siphnos Municipality (1999).
  The name Apollonia derives from Apollo, meaning a town dedicated to the worship of the God Apollo. As for the derivation of its common name, Stavri, which dates back to 1677, there are various possible interpretations: it could derive from the male proper name Stavros; from Timios Stavros meaning Holy Cross (there was a church of a holy cross in the vicinity); from its location literally at the crossroads where all the main roads of the island meet; or from the crosswise design of the town plan and houses.
  Whatever the derivation of its common name, Apollonia is indeed situated in the geographical center of the island and it is built amphitheatrically on three hills. The island's commercial center, this is where you will find, among other things, news agencies, travel offices, banks, stationary shops, as well as the island's medical clinic, two pharmacies, the two police stations, the telecommunications facilities sand gas stations. Apollonia has no shortage of restaurants, traditional coffee houses, cafes, bars, and souvenir gift shops.
  Visitors can stroll on Apollonia's stone-paved streets and lanes, and enjoy the picturesque to local architecture, or have a drink or coffee at the many coffee bars or sample the delicious local cuisine in one of the many restaurants. To appreciate the local history and culture, a visit to the Folklore Museum in Apollonia's central square is highly recommended.
  Other sites of historical and cultural interest include the old schools of Saint Artemios (1832-1988), the church of Saint Artemios (1629), which belongs to the Simonopetry of Mount Athos, the Virgin Mary of Barou with the French frescoes and wood curved temple the churches Saint Athanasios, Saint Sostis, the Transfiguration of Christ, the Holy Cross and the Bearded Virgin ''Uraniofora'', the busts of poet Rambaya in the square of the same name and that of Aristomenis Provelengios, made by the famous Tinian sculptor Giannoulis Halepas, in the courtyard of the Gymnasium.
  South-west from Apollonia, on the highest peak of Mount Prophet Elias, visitors can see the imposing monastery of the same name (1145-1890), where many of the monks were iconographers; those who enjoy hiking will never forget the panoramic view of the Aegean and the scenic way in which the island's many villages punctuate the soft contours of the hills across from Mount Prophet Elias.
  On the north slope of the same mountain, visitors can also see the Monastery of Saint John tou Moungou (the Mute) (ca. 1650-1834), where Parthenios Heretis, o monk well known for his intellectual and scholarly pursuits, lived and worked.

Artemonas Community

Tel: +30 22840 32388
Fax: +30 22840 31234
  According to the local lore, the village was allegedly the place where Artemis, The well-wisher, namely the goddess who protected those disembarking from the arriving ships, but also the one who brought about favorable resolutions to various troubles, was worshipped. Though this lore made for good stories, it is highly unlikely that is historically accurate, for in ancient time places were Artemis was worshipped were called Artemissia. According to a scholar the name Artemonas, or Artemon, relies on the same linguistic structure as that of Parthenonas, or Parthenon, which itself derives etymologically from Parthena meaning virgin, virginity being one of the attributions of Artemis.
  Artemonas is the birthplace of Nikolaos Chrysogelos, already mentioned above, and of Ioannis Gryparis, a highly esteemed Greek poet and philologist. A municipality in its own right from 1914 until 1998, Artemonas is now part of the single Municipality of Siphnos. One and a half kilometers north of Apollonia, Artemonas is one of the most picturesque villages of Siphnos, thanks to the neoclassical architecture of many of its houses and its beautiful gardens.
  Of the many windmills that used to stand at the top of the hill, today only two are in good condition. This spot is worth a visit for its panoramic view not only for the other villages, including Kastro, but also of the nearby islands. In Artemonas visitors can see the house where the poet Gryparis was born, the churches of the Virgin Mary of Kohi, for its interesting architecture, the Virgin Mary of Samos, an extension to which was added in1788 and where you will find the icon of the Virgin Mary, The Nun, a rare iconic depiction of Mary without the Holy Child and the Virgin Mary of Balis, whose feast day is celebrated on November 21.

  Petali is the name of two villages, Kato Petali (Petali Below) and, because on its location on the hill above, Pano Petali (Petali Above). In the local dialect, Petali means stony height, and is a commonplace name on the island.
  Kato Petali is east of Apollonia, built at the foot and on the gentle slopes of a hill. The building that stands out on this village is that of the church of Zoodochou Pigis (1894). To raise funds for its maintenance and restoration, the villagers sing the Virgin Mary's Carols on January the 1st, the same melody as the Christmas carols accompanied by local instruments. Of great interest is the stone-covered courtyard of this church, with its traditional design patterns, as well as the architecture of the houses, the object of a study by the German academic Friedrich Wagner and his students. The old building that used to house the old primary school (1924-1994) now houses the Music School of Siphnos.
  East, of Kato Petali, you will find the old monastery of Saint John the Chrysostomos (Saint John with the Golden Tongue), which was founded in 1650; according to local tradition, this was where the first Greek school on Siphnos was located, and where, too, the School of the Holy Sepulcher, known as the Helleno-museum, was housed before it was moved to the School building of Saint Artemios. South of the village, in the middle of an olive grove, you will find the beautiful church of the Virgin Mary of Koukia (1614), also known as Myrtidiotissa.

This text is cited August 2004 from the Municipality of Sifnos URL below, which contains images

You are able to search for more information in greater and/or surrounding areas by choosing one of the titles below and clicking on "more".

GTP Headlines

Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.

Subscribe now!
Greek Travel Pages: A bible for Tourism professionals. Buy online

Ferry Departures