Listed 27 sub titles with search on: Places of worship
for wider area of: "ILIA
Places of worship (27)
Church of St. Spyridon
Saint Spiridon is the protector of the town and the church is located at its highest point. It is over 100 years old. It has a beautiful garden and from all entrances the view to the sea is breathtaking. For decades now the St. Spiridon church has enriched the faith and held the respect of its residents.
church of the Panaghia Katholiki at Gastouni, Eleia, is a two- columned inscribed
cruciform church of the 12th century. It has a semi-hexagonal apse, dome with
eight-sided drum and a narthex at the west side.
The walls, with panels of reticulate tiling and double layers of
tiles at the joins, are embellished with a plain ceramic decoration, especially
dentil courses, and with embedded glazed bowls. Unique Frankish influence of
the 14th century is seen in the pointed arch of the north doorway, now blocked.
The later addition of an exonarthex and large doorway openings are the only
few changes that have been made to the original form of the building.
Two layers of wall paintings are preserved on the interior. The
second layer is dated by an inscription to the year 1702 and was made with funds
contributed by Ioannikios the bishop of Olene. A second inscription of the same
period referring to the donors of the church and giving the date of building
as 1279, refers in all likelihood to the earlier donors' inscription.
Chapel of Prophet Elias
It is a picturesque church built on an pine-covered hill. Every summer, on July 20th there is a big fiesta. For the Zacharians there has been a close bond with this church since the town΄s cemetery is there. It was built towards the end of the 19th century.
On the outskirts of Amalias is the Byzantine
Monastery of Frangavilla, now the orphanage of the municipality of Elis. The
Katholikon, a Middle Byzantine building, is one of the most important churches
of Eleia. It is a four-columned inscribed cruciform church with a dome.
Later additions and repairs have altered its exterior appearance
and it now gives the impression of being massive and unarticulated. Preserved
on the interior are important wall paintings. The earliest are probably contemporary
with the erection of the building and the later ones are datable to the 17th century.
Tel: +30 26220 61280
Tel: +30 26260 41205
Tel: +30 26210 71218
Tel: +30 26240 81263
Tel: +30 26240 81263
Panagia Kremasti Monastery
- Municipality of Oleni WebPage
Tel: +30 26210 51312
Tel: +30 26210 25303
Tel: +30 26210 94273
Copyright 1999-2019 International Publications Ltd.