MAKRINITSA (Village) VOLOS
To the west of the side of the square lies Agios Ioannis temple (1806) with rich stone curved decoration that composes the most unique work of art in the after Byzantine Architecture. For more eastern from the central square, there is the church of the Blessed Panagias, the village's cathedral church, built in 1767 and decorated with rich stone curves, as well, part of wich belongs to the old Byzantine convent of Oxias Episkepseos that Konstantine Malliasinos built in 1204. In the enclosure of the church there are the temples of Agion Padon and Agios Nikolaos. The Bishop's throne has been registrated in 1743, by after Byzantine frescoes.
Other churches are Agiou Athanasiou in 1792, Agiou Georgiou, Metamorfosis in 1797, Agias Triadas that was decorated by the folk painter Pagoni, the monastery of Agiou Gerasimou in 1792 and finaly the impressive temple of Agia Magdalini in Koukourava in 1802.
This text is cited September 2004 from the Community of Makrinitsa URL below, which contains images
Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.Subscribe now!