APOLLONIA (Small town) SIFNOS - Greek Travel Pages



  Apollonia, also known as Stavri, has been the capital of Siphnos since 1836. It was the seat of the Siphnos Municipality (1836-1914) and of the Apollonia District (1914-1998), and is presently the seat of the newly formed Siphnos Municipality (1999).
  The name Apollonia derives from Apollo, meaning a town dedicated to the worship of the God Apollo. As for the derivation of its common name, Stavri, which dates back to 1677, there are various possible interpretations: it could derive from the male proper name Stavros; from Timios Stavros meaning Holy Cross (there was a church of a holy cross in the vicinity); from its location literally at the crossroads where all the main roads of the island meet; or from the crosswise design of the town plan and houses.
  Whatever the derivation of its common name, Apollonia is indeed situated in the geographical center of the island and it is built amphitheatrically on three hills. The island's commercial center, this is where you will find, among other things, news agencies, travel offices, banks, stationary shops, as well as the island's medical clinic, two pharmacies, the two police stations, the telecommunications facilities sand gas stations. Apollonia has no shortage of restaurants, traditional coffee houses, cafes, bars, and souvenir gift shops.
  Visitors can stroll on Apollonia's stone-paved streets and lanes, and enjoy the picturesque to local architecture, or have a drink or coffee at the many coffee bars or sample the delicious local cuisine in one of the many restaurants. To appreciate the local history and culture, a visit to the Folklore Museum in Apollonia's central square is highly recommended.
  Other sites of historical and cultural interest include the old schools of Saint Artemios (1832-1988), the church of Saint Artemios (1629), which belongs to the Simonopetry of Mount Athos, the Virgin Mary of Barou with the French frescoes and wood curved temple the churches Saint Athanasios, Saint Sostis, the Transfiguration of Christ, the Holy Cross and the Bearded Virgin ''Uraniofora'', the busts of poet Rambaya in the square of the same name and that of Aristomenis Provelengios, made by the famous Tinian sculptor Giannoulis Halepas, in the courtyard of the Gymnasium.
  South-west from Apollonia, on the highest peak of Mount Prophet Elias, visitors can see the imposing monastery of the same name (1145-1890), where many of the monks were iconographers; those who enjoy hiking will never forget the panoramic view of the Aegean and the scenic way in which the island's many villages punctuate the soft contours of the hills across from Mount Prophet Elias.
  On the north slope of the same mountain, visitors can also see the Monastery of Saint John tou Moungou (the Mute) (ca. 1650-1834), where Parthenios Heretis, o monk well known for his intellectual and scholarly pursuits, lived and worked.

APOLLONIA Photo gallery

Find within APOLLONIA

Related Destinations
Hotels & Accommodation
Domestic sea schedules

Geographical Data

Type of location: Listed traditional settlement, Town hall, Island capital, Helicopter landing possibility, Municipal district, Archaeological site, Acropolis
Postal Code: 84003
Postal Code: 84003
Tel +30 22840
Altitude: 143 meters
Longitude: 24o 43' 23.18" E
Latitude: 36o 58' 25.73" N

Population Census

Year Population
1991 689
1981 1306
5 Kilometers from the port: SIFNOS Port, KYKLADES , GREECE

GTP Headlines

Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.

Subscribe now!

Ferry Departures