The church was the catholicon (main church) of a monastery and in
its original plan, dated to the end of the 12th century, was cross-in-square of
the contracted type with a narthex. Later on, two more structures were added:
a wider narthex, which incorporated the previously freestanding bell-tower, and
a portico with chapels on the north and south sides. Recent restoration work revealed
fragments of the original layer of the wall paintings on the upper section of
the bell-tower, which has been converted to a chapel. A second layer of good quality
wall paintings, dated to the late 13th century, is preserved on the west wall
of the new narthex. The arcosolium on the north wall of the narthex is probably
connected with the founder's tomb. In a bay on the north wall of the church there
is a unique relief
icon of Saint George, dated to the end of the 13th century.
The monument was first restored in the 1950's but a project for its
complete restoration and rendering has been undertaken since 1989 and is planned
to be completed by 1997.