Close by the waterfront of Adamas stands the Byzantine church of the Holy Trinity, erected after the period of Iconomachy (842 AD).
The monument underwent several reconstructions, the most important being that of the Venetian era which left a definite impact on
the final architectural form of the building. Today the church of the Holy Trinity houses the Ecclesiastical Museum of Milos.
Its collection - representing a local art tradition of centuries - includes portable icons and wood-carvings, which echo the financial
prosperity of the island under the Venetian rule, and votive offerings by Melian migrants in Russia.
Among the exhibits, visitors can see works of the renowned Cretan School of icon painting, such as a rare Descent from the Cross (Apokathelosis)
of the 14th century and icons by the Cretan painters Emmanuel and Antonios Skordilis, who worked on Milos from 1647 onwards and
were influenced by the Flemish engraving, thus introducing a new style in the Postbyzantine religious painting. The museum collection
also includes fine specimens of epitaphioi, wood - carved lecterns, icon-stands and a bishop’s throne of the 17th century, silver
chalices and censers of the 18th century, along with a collection of votive offerings, jewellery in their majority.
A church of rare architectural type housing works of superior art and island artistic tradition, a museum that is definitely worth one's visit.
Byzantine & Post-Byzantine Monuments
Art & culture
- On site monuments
- Churches: Middle Byzantine period, AD 610-1204
Art & culture
- Ecclesiastical Art Museum
- Visiting Information
- Free admission
- Fixed hours
- Periods of the exhibits
- Post-Byzantine period, 1453-1821
- Late Byzantine period, AD 1204-1453
- As a monument is administered by: