church of the Panaghia Katholiki at Gastouni, Eleia, is a two- columned inscribed
cruciform church of the 12th century. It has a semi-hexagonal apse, dome with
eight-sided drum and a narthex at the west side.
The walls, with panels of reticulate tiling and double layers of
tiles at the joins, are embellished with a plain ceramic decoration, especially
dentil courses, and with embedded glazed bowls. Unique Frankish influence of
the 14th century is seen in the pointed arch of the north doorway, now blocked.
The later addition of an exonarthex and large doorway openings are the only
few changes that have been made to the original form of the building.
Two layers of wall paintings are preserved on the interior. The
second layer is dated by an inscription to the year 1702 and was made with funds
contributed by Ioannikios the bishop of Olene. A second inscription of the same
period referring to the donors of the church and giving the date of building
as 1279, refers in all likelihood to the earlier donors' inscription.