gtp logo

Location information

Listed 30 sub titles with search on: Main pages  for wider area of: "KEFALLINIA Prefecture IONIAN ISLANDS" .

Main pages (30)


  Aghia Efimia is situated at the eastern part of the island and it is an exceptionally picturesque village with rich vegetation. At its port ships from the opposite coast (Sterea Ellada) put in. Aghia Efimia is developed as far as tourism is concerned and offers every possible amenity to the visitor.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Anogi Community

ANOGI (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 33509

A pleasant surprise awaits the visitor after reaching Dichalia and starting to descend to Antisamos Beach. A splendid canvas of green is painted in all imaginable shades of blue and white.
From that vintage location, the view of the emerald beach is an awesome experiences for the senses, every single time.
The turquoise waters of the Ionian Sea reach out to embrace the incredibly white pebbles which in turn fade into the magnificent green surrounding scenery of the mountainside.
Antisamos is one of the best beaches on the island and the entire Ionian region as well.
It is this untamed beauty that captured the imagination of the producers of "Captain Corelli's Mandolin" when they decided to use it as a location for the filming of the movie.
This text (extract) is cited April 2010 from the Municipality of Symi web site.

Argostoli Community

  Argostoli, with a population of 8000 people, became Cephalonia’s capital in 1757.
  Even though many of the town’s imposing mansions were destroyed during the 1953 earthquakes, the new town which was built kept the quaint, Ionian style with well-laid out streets, spacious squares, many trees and alleys and a very lively port.
  In the centre of the city there are the Administrative House, the Town Hall, the Archaeological Museum, the Korgialenio Popular Art Museum, the Korgialenios Library and the newly-built "Kefalos" Theatre.
  At the port, the visitors can see Nikos Kavadias’ bust gazing to the endless sea. Kavadias was a poet who loved and wrote about the sea during his whole life.
  From the few works of the island’s British period which the earthquakes didn’t destroy is Koutavos bridge, built in 1813, which connects Argostoli with the opposite coast.
  Walking along Lithostroto (stone-paved street), the town’s central street, take a minute to visit Aghios Spiridonas’ church and Kambana square.
  Reaching the street at the port, you will see the market full of fresh fish and sweet-smelling fruit and vegetables. Further down many pastry shops and restaurants invite you to taste the local dishes.
  The people are hospitable, warm-hearted, easy-going and will not fail to help you and make your stay a memorable experience.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Assos Community

  One of the most picturesque places of the island. Is a very popular destination with many visitors during the summer. The village was built amphitheatrically round Assos creck and has a beautiful beach. Walking around its narrow streets one can see beautiful houses with flowerfull gardens and one gets the impression of what Kefalonia was like many years ago.
  There are restaurants, cafes and other shops most them gathered round the main square with it's beautiful plane and oleander trees!
  The real jewel of Asos is it's castle from where one can admire the panoramic view.

  The municipality of Erissos covers the north part of the island of Kefalonia and is known for its exceptional beauty. The road network which connects all the villages, passes through beautiful scenery and meets the main road arteries of the island. Driving through precipitous roads one can enjoy the view of picturesque landscapes, creeks and dramatic clifs. During your trip you have the opportunity to visit the famous village of Asos, the old capital and important port of the island, in 1593, with the Venician Castle of 16th century on top of the hill and the prisons where prisoners had to work as field hand workers up to 1953.
  About 2 kms past Asos on the way to Fiscardo, one can visit the 1600 built monastery of Theotocou (Gods mother) where every 8th of September there is a celebration. The house hold icon of Godmother is named (Wider than the skies) "Platirera ton ouranon".
  On the way you also have the opportunity to wander beautiful little villages where in a lot of them that survived the 1953 earthquake, you can distinguish the Italian influenced architecture.
  Fiscardo is an old fishing village in which all the houses survived the 1953 earthquake. Today it is one of the most popular and touristy-holiday places in Greece, well known for its traditional architecture and breathtaking picturesque beauty, as well as its cosmopolitan little natural port.   Fiscardo is the home town of the sea poet Nikos Kavadias and it took it's name from the crusader Robert Guiscard. Fiscardo is surrounded by beautiful little villages, glistening creeks and other places such as Foki & Evreti with the wonderful cypress forests. The eastern villages of the municipality are situated opposite the island of Ithaca, through time, witnessing the world evolution and looking towards the future.

This text is cited June 2003 from the Municipality of Erissos URL below, which contains images.

Exogi Community

EXOGI (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 51100

Fiskardo Community

  Fiscardo is situated in the most northern point of the island opposite the island of Ithaka and is famous for its traditional architecture and its cosmopolitan port.
  It is one of the most important tourist and holiday destinations of the island with soundly organised tourist background.
  Many yachts arrive at Fiscardo's port where their owners most of the times decide to stay for the rest of their holiday.
  Something similar happened to crusader Robert Guiscard from whom Fiscardo took its name, who arrived in 1085 in order to conquer the island, but finally stayed and lived in Fiscardo for the rest of his life. Most of the mansions (stately houses) one can see in Fiscardo belong to the Venetian architecture era.

  Northwest of Cephalonia is situated the historic island of Ithaki, Ulysses’ homeland. The island is believed to have been named after the mythical hero Ithakos.
  It is a long, narrow island and its two peninsulas are linked together with Aetos’ isthmus.
  Vathi is the island’s capital. Lefki, Kioni, Frikes, Anogi, Exogi, Perahori and Stavros are Ithaki’s main villages.
  As it happens in the whole Eptanissa complex, Ithaki combines perfectly the beauty of the all-green mountains with the crystal clear blue sea.
  Its beaches enchant the visitor and the trees reaching the beach create a scenery of unique beauty, combining wildness with tranquility.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

The capital of the island is situated inside a sheltered cove of Molos Bay which seems like a lake. The houses, which were rebuilt after the earthquakes of 1953, are as before in the traditional architectural style. The blue waters and the verdant islet of Lazaretto in the middle of the harbour make a good first impression on the visitor.

  Cephalonia is the largest and most mountainous island in Eptanissa. It is situated to the south of Lefkada, west of Ithaki and north of Zakynthos.
  It is an all-green island, which offers variety and sharp contrasts in scenery. Argostoli is the island’s capital and also gives its name to the nearby bay. Opposite Argostoli, in Palliki peninsula, is situated Lixouri, the second most important town of the island.
  Cephalonia’s coasts form either small bays or gulfs with magnificent, wind-protected beaches, ideal for swimming and sunbathing or steep cliffs where the wild rocks meet the deep blue Ionian Sea.
  Cephalonia’s flora is renowned for the unique variety of black fir called the "cephalonian fir" which can only be found without hybrids on the highest mountain of the island, Mount Enos.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Kioni Community

KIONI (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 31766

A modern village rebuilt after the 1953 earthquakes in the traditional style with donations from the family of the shipowner Vergoti. The village's Cultural Centre is housed in a neoclassical building. There is a marvellous view from Kourkoumelata over the Ionian Sea.

  Livatho area spreads along the southern part of the island. Here, the visitor can enjoy swimming in one of the picturesque beaches such as Lourdas and Avithos. Once in the area, do not forget to visit Metaxata village to see the house where Lord Byron lived for a while, in 1824, before going to Messolonghi.
  Touring around Livatho, it’s worth visiting Ntomata and Kalligata, two villages whose churches are decorated with magnificent wooden carved icon screens.
  The sights of the area also include Ag. Andreas’ Monastery and Ag. Georgios’ Castle.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Lixouri Community

  Lixouri is the second largest town with a population of 3500 people, according to the most recent census.
  It is situated in Palliki peninsula and there is regular ferry boat transport from Argostoli. The visitor can also reach Lixouri driving around the big bay of Livadi.
  Lixouri is divided in two parts by a stream and small bridges connect the two banks. It is a modern town with big streets full of trees and spacious squares.
  At the town’s port, you can see Andreas Laskaratos’ statue. Laskaratos was a satiric poet who came from Lixouri and lived in the 19th century.
  Furthermore, liberal politicians’ busts, such as Typaldos-Iakovatos, Pylarinos and Typaldos Kapeletos-Dotoratos can be seen around the town.
  Distinguished benefactors like P. Vallianos, S. Petritsis, the Basias brothers and others helped to reconstruct the town after the terrible earthquakes in 1953.
  The inhabitants of Lixouri, as all Cephalonians, are famous for their love and talents in music, literature and art in general. In this frame we should not fail to mention Pali’s Music School which was founded in 1836 and it is one of the oldest and most important in Greece.
  Lixouri is very famous for the rich cultural events.
  Its Carnival is renowned for its sense of humour and satire and it is the prevailing happening in winter.
  The whole island participates in it and apart from its variety and its humorous sense it also possesses a Dionysiac aspect.
  It is regarded as one of the most successful provincial carnivals.
  During the summer season, the Cultural Centre of Lixouri Municipality in collaboration with other Municipalities and authorities organises various cultural events.
  Lixouri’s sights also include Laskaratos’ hill, Iakovatos Library, the Archaeological Collection and numerous magnificent churches with wooden carved icon screens.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Lourdata Community

Tel: +30 26710 31425
The village of Lourdata is situated in a verdant, fertile region. The waters of Enos and the protection afforded by the mountain greatly heighten the fertility of the village gardens and orchards, which go right down to the sea. The Cephalonians relish the fruit and vegetables from the gardens of Lourdata, which are very tasty. The village's fine beach, which is also large, every year attracts crowds of holidaymakers, Greek and non-Greek.

Markopoulo Community

Tel: +30 26710 81358
A village built on a rise with a superb panoramic view. Each year around mid-August in Markopoulo the snakes of the Panagia make their appearance. These are small harmless snakes which have the sign of the cross on their heads. On the day of the festival of the Panagia the snakes go into the church and up onto the silver icon of the Virgin. Is it a miracle or a way station for the snakes as they make their way to some place warmer? According to contemporary reports, in 1953, the year of the big earthquakes, the snakes did not make their appearance. It is characteristic that the snakes of the Panagia disappear on 15th August after the liturgy or after the church festival.

Monastery of St. Gerassimos at Omala

Tel: +30 26710 86385
  Aghios Gerassimos’ monastery dates back to the 16th century.
  The Saint, patron of the island, lived and taught here from 1560 until his death in 1579, leaving behind magnificent samples of his ascetic life.
  His relics are kept in the monastery’s church and his memory is honoured on 16th August and on 20th October.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

Monastery of the Virgin Kathara

Tel: +30 26740 31247
  Kathara monastery is situated 566 m. above sea level, 6 klm. away from the homonymous village. There are two views concerning the construction of a church and a monastery, both dedicated to Virgin Mary (Panaghia). The first claims that peasants went to the area to burn ''kathara'', i.e. wild grass and thorns, found Virgin Mary's icon and decided to build a church there. The second view related the foundation of the monastery with the Catholic sect of Kathara. Whichever of the two views is true, it is a fact that Virgin Mary's church was built in 1696 and the monastery which was built a few years later was active until the 1980's.
  Nowadays no monks live in the monastery which is open only in summer offering hospitality to the visitors. Virgin Mary's icon is believed to have been painted by Loukas, the Evangelist. The church's wooden carved icon screen is also of superb beauty. Until recently another valuable icon, probably painted by El Greco, was kept in the monastery. The icon is depicting Jesus on the way to Calvary. This icon is today kept in Aghios Georgios' church, in Vounaki. Panaghia Kathariotissa who is the island's patron saint celebrates on 8th and 14th September and on Easter Sunday.

Monastery of Kipouria

Tel: +30 26710 91354
  The monastery dedicated to Virgin Mary Kipoureon was built in 1759 and is situated in Palliki peninsula.
  The visitor apart from the remarkable relics will also have the chance to admire the unrivalled view towards the endless blue sea. An unforgettable experience.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

The island has joined the mainland because of the alluvion of the river of Achelous. The homonymous seasonal settlement is located on the eastern coast of the island.

Platrithia Community

PLATRITHIA (Municipal district) ITHAKI
Tel: +30 26740 31470

Poros is the biggest district of new Elios-Pronnoi municipality. Is a beautiful,picturesque village, surrounded by the villages Tzanata, Asprogerakas, Kabitsata and Riza. It has a population of 1500 inhabitants. Its port is a significant link between Kefalonia and continental Greece. It was rebuilt after the earthquake of 1953 , after the few fishermen’s houses were destroyed, it is harmonically constructed at the foot of the mountains Pahni and Atros. A vast indented coastline, that is 2km long, abundant in sandy beaches and leeward ports, comprises its seafront. The sea with its clear and transparent waters offers a spectacular sight with the variety of colours. The area is renowned as a fishing place, while its caves are a shelter for the seal Monachus-Monachus and the turtle Caretta-Caretta.

This text is cited Apr 2003 from the Poros Community URL below, which contains images.

Ratzakli is a picturesque village, which belongs to the District of Skala. It has an exceptional view of the sea and the adjacent Katelios Bay.

Sami Community

  Sami is one of the most renowned holiday resorts on the island. The area combines the beauty of mountains and sea whereas big and small ships put in at the port. Apart from the hotels and the rented rooms there is also a perfectly organised camping.
  On Aghii Fanentes hill nearby, you can visit the ruins of the homonymous monastery. Furthermore, near Sami, there are ruins of a roman building, which the locals call "Rakospito" as well as three tombs dating back to the 3rd century BC. Around Sami, there are numerous caves such as Agalaki cave, Aghia Eleousa precipice and Zervati cave. The two most important caves of the area are those of Melissani and Drogarati.
This text (extract) is cited January 2004 from the Assoc. of Local Authorities of Kefalonia & Ithaca tourist pamphlet.

According to an old Lixouri saying, this village is known for the local cheese.

At a short distance from the village of Stavros lies the ancient Settlement of Pilikata. It is believed that the palace of Odysseus was situated on this hill. Excavations have brought to light a sculptured tomb and an altar from an ancient cemetery. These finds reveal the presence of human habitation on the island from the end of the third millennium B.C. In the small archaeological museum the visitor can see finds from the Cave of Loϊzos, Pilikata and the School of Homer. Amphorae, early Helladic vases, finds from the Neolithic era, Mycenaean pottery.

This text is cited December 2004 from the Ionian Islands Region General Secretariat URL below, which contains image

Svoronata Community

Tel: +30 26710 41220
Svoronata is made up of three regions: Svoronata, Sarlata and Domata. In the position of the mediaeval capital of Kefalonia, Travliata, are the remains of the mediaeval fortress. It was constructed in 1504, by Venetian and Cephalonian builders under the supervision of the Italian engineer Nikolaos Tsimaras.

You are able to search for more information in greater and/or surrounding areas by choosing one of the titles below and clicking on "more".

GTP Headlines

Receive our daily Newsletter with all the latest updates on the Greek Travel industry.

Subscribe now!
Greek Travel Pages: A bible for Tourism professionals. Buy online

Ferry Departures