Lagadia is a very picturesque Arcadia
n town. Situated on a mountainous
august landscape with fresh water springs, it offers an imposing sight to every
visitor. The two and three storey stone houses that are amphitheatrically built
on a steep slope create the impression of a stone-built work of art. Furthermore,
it is the fatherland of Delegianneon and other chieftains and veterans of the
Lagadia is the homeland of skilled craftsmen and artisans who had
an excellent knowledge of the art of stone and for generations built houses, churches
and schools all over Arcadia, Messinia
and the rest of Greece. In this way their
reputation was spread everywhere. A strong proof of their talent and fame is the
view of the village houses. It is said (Balafouti, "Workmen: Lagadiani")
that the tradition of Lagadian stone-artisans dates back to villager-workmen coming
mainly from Laggadia. The villager-workmen had gone away to Italy after the victory
of Byzantium but years later they returned and settled in Akovo
, which is located
. At around 1210 a villager-workman who had the position of secretary,
stole plans from the Frankish castle of Akovo that belonged to the architects.
Since then, Laggadian people preserve and carry on the tradition in architecture.
In addition, they passed on their artistry to other capable continuers as the
workmen of Kosma Kynourias.
Laggadia is built on a steep canyon on an altitude of 900 meters.
The houses that are amphitheatrically built on the slope are facing the ravine.
Due to the slope, many of those are designed to have one storey at the one side
of the road and three at the other. The Central Square of the village stands on
the edge of a deep ravine rich in walnut trees, plane trees and fresh water streams.
At this point Thoa canyon begins and stretches crossing a big part of Gortynia
and eventually ending up at river Ladona. Laggadia is also known for its developed
local weaving mill handicraft. The upper part of the village, Pano Geitonia, apart
from having a magnificent view, is unique in picturesqueness. The most important
sights are the house of Deligiannis, and the old historic churches of "Agion
Taxiarhon" (1805) and "Agion Apostolon" (1845) that are characterized
by their peculiar belfries. Especially at the front of Taxiarhon church, one will
notice the stone-made artistic belfry, which is equipped with a clock. Some other
remarkable stone-made structures are the Gymnasium and many elegant fountains
that decorate the village.
To get to Lagadia one must go through Vytina
. This road continues
towards Ilia passing through Olympia. An interesting route is the one that leads